Fail to Plan, Plan to Fail

First Weigh In – ‘Fail to plan, plan to fail’

 

So before I get onto a blog about starting to run the first challenge I faced was waiting 2 weeks for my first weigh in. I had to wait for 2 weeks as the first Saturday I was at a conference, in lovely Chester, with work. This involved long train journeys and lovely hotel food and the dreaded buffet at the social event. Whilst I was looking forward to the conference I was worried about how I would cope with the food and not being at home.

So what could I do? Did I go with the attitude of well what will be will be? Did I give in to the voice in my head that I have given into so many times of ‘you will never do it’ ‘you are not good enough’ ‘you are worthless’ NO! I decided to go with the attitude I will and I can do this. I needed a plan. A saying I once heard was ‘Fail to plan, plan to fail’ So with this in mind I checked out the hotel menu and focused on what I could eat, I also knew where I could get some ‘good’ treat food so I searched for where the shop was near the hotel so I could stock up when I got there.

So the 2 weeks came and went, the weekend away was survived although I had a few wobbles. So weigh day came and time to go to. I was nervous but in I went. I kept myself to myself and didn’t say much which for those that know me will find it hard to believe. It was my turn. As it was my first weigh in I had to weigh with the leader. I thought I had been good and stuck to the plan but still the doubts persisted, the negative voices in my head repeating what I had believed for so many years, the cutting words of those who bullied me at school. Drum roll the numbers went fast but were a whole 10lbs lower than my first time on the scales. Was I happy? You bet!! Did I believe this would work? Not really, but a little bit of self belief came back that day.

I knew though I had to plan otherwise I was planning to fail. Over the next few weeks I learnt to meal plan, I learnt to write it down, cook fresh again (mainly thanks to Mrs B) learnt new flavours and recipes and started learning to stop when full not finish everything on the plate and everyone else’s.

 

Fatboygettingslim

 

Jonathan

2 thoughts on “Fail to Plan, Plan to Fail”

  1. You are doing brilliantly Jonathan both in terms of running and weight loss. Hope you find Lucy. Best wishes from a fellow runner…. Keep doing what you are doing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

