It’s not a diet

It’s not a diet!!

So I mentioned in my last blog that my weight loss journey is not a diet and that I would blog on it; so here I am after eating a lovely curry (home made for all those of you who took an intake of breath then) blogging that I am not on a diet.

I refuse to call what I do a diet as it isn’t. To me a diet is when you deny yourself something, this doesn’t always need to be food. I have changed my lifestyle so I don’t deny myself anything. When you actually look at where the word diet comes from the Oxford Dictionary states

“Middle English: from Old French diete (noun), dieter (verb), via Latin from Greek diaita ‘a way of life’.”

You see when I have tried to lose weight before it has always ended in failure. It appeared that diets where just another thing in a long line of things that I was no good at. Yes I started off with the best of intentions every time but sooner rather than later I failed, I started gaining most weeks or found excuses to not go to class of which ever plan I was trying to follow. It is only now I am older and just a tiny bit wiser that I can point to one reason (there is always more than 1 reason) that I could never sustain my diet. You see in reality I saw being on a diet as a punishment. A punishment for what I am not sure, but mainly for not being good enough combined with thinking for many years that I didn’t deserve to be ‘normal’ and if I am being honest this is still something I struggle with on a regular basis.

So what has changed this time? Well I realised 2 things (well I realised more than 2 things) but I am going to write about 2 of the key things that have brought a breakthrough this time.

  1. I wanted to change how I live my life.
  2. I do deserve to be ‘normal’

Taking them in turn there were many things that I wanted to be able to do that I couldn’t. I wanted to be able to have a kick about with my son, I wanted to be able to walk up a flight of stars without being out of breath, I wanted to be able to sit on a seat on the train without getting stares from whoever was sat beside me (yes I did notice the look of disgust on your face) you get the idea there was so much more that I wanted to do. I wanted to change my lifestyle and I have. I now often walk up stairs with no problem including when travelling on the tube in London, I have a kick about with my son and can go on for a long time and I took up running (that will be another blog coming soon).

Normal? What is normal? Well I am still not sure what ‘normal’ is but there are a couple of things that I want to highlight and hopefully as you read this may help you with your journey whatever that journey may be. Well first I realised there is no normal!! Yes over the years we have been conditioned by various media that there is a normal and what that looks like but in reality that doesn’t exist. When I finally grasped hold of this I slowly started to accept myself for who I was. Sure I wanted to be able to buy clothes from high street shops and be able to do normal things most of all I needed to be me. I had to start accepting me for being me. Once I started this this process, which is still ongoing and will be an ongoing thing the weight loss journey started getting easier especially as I was being affirmed by a few good friends and importantly I allowed them to.

So if you are struggling please stop trying to be ‘normal’, accept who you are and be that person, stop trying to be someone you are not. Believe those positive words that those closest to you speak to you (another blog will be on similar to this about the importance of a good support network). For those specifically struggling with their weight please don’t think of it as a diet but as a change of life, please don’t think about losing weight (if you lose something you go hunting for it).

Fatboygettingslim

#keepbelieving

#hopebubbles

Jonathan

One thought on “It’s not a diet”

Leave a Reply

