Surround yourself with cheerleaders!

Surround yourself with cheerleaders!

Many people have asked me how have I lost so much weight and kept going. Well there are a few things that have played their part, however today’s blog is about one of the key areas for me in my journey. As you may have guessed from the title it is my support network.

So who are my biggest cheerleaders? Before I answer that I want to thank all those who have cheered (and jeered) me along the way. To Grace my leader and Tom, Nicola and Kat (and the rest of Team NP). To the Codbelly’s who have been there for me and my family over the years. To those who have encouraged me with my running, John, JP, Matt and also Keith and the guys at The Lincolnshire Runner. To Tracey and Sally who make me drag my butt out for a run when in London. There are many others who over the years have played a part in helping me to get to where I am today. However my biggest supporters and encourages are my fantastic wife and my son. They have encouraged me, cooked for me, eaten chocolate so I don’t, put up with me going for early morning runs, taken me to races (I will blog about my journey into running soon I promise). In the days when I have been at my lowest they have been there, when I felt that I couldn’t continue on this journey they were there to hold me up and keep me going.

There is one thing all those who have supported me do and continue to support me they all cheer me on. I have to say that if their support hadn’t been there I would not have achieved as much as I have. I could have stopped many times but they wouldn’t let me. Yes they have given me a stern talking to when needed but they haven’t belittled me or jeered me but constantly cheered me on.

So if you are a long way on your journey or thinking of starting then please surround yourself with those who will cheer you and when you are tired, fed up and on the verge of quitting won’t let you. They will cheer you on and be there for you. In my experience if you surround yourself with those who will genuinely cheer you on then you can achieve anything. Those who will stand outside on a damp Sunday morning in the cold while you run, who will give up their Saturday morning long lie, who will text you randomly to say they believe in you are the people who you want to be around you. If they don’t actually want to do that then don’t allow them to be part of your journey.

Please remember this

I am cheering you on! You can do it! Don’t give into fear. Go for it.

Fatboygettingslim

#hopebubbles

#keepbelieveing

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

