Fun or fear at the fair?!!

Fun or fear at the fair?!!

So today I had a gain. I put 2lb on and in fairness I was half expecting it. I started to think why me?, but I quickly caught myself. Yes I was feeling sorry for myself, mainly due to being frustrated that I can’t run. I am really struggling with the fact that I can’t go out in the way I have become used to. I have got used to it running is now part of my DNA.

As I sat there before group started, I was in my own little world thinking. I noticed that I was thinking of some great things that I have achieved on the course of my journey. I have raised along with a friend just under £5000 for Blood Cancer research so am half way to the £10,000 target. I have run 3 10k races, to do that is something I didn’t think I would ever be able to do and I am looking forward to some new challenges next year. I can buy clothes in normal clothes shops. I am no longer out of breath walking up stairs. There are so many things that I have to be thankful for. From having a roof over my head to a wife that loves me, you get the idea. By now I was smiling, as on Wednesday my 7 year old said “Dad let’s go to the fair and go on the dodgems.” “We will see” said I suddenly panicking that I wouldn’t fit into the car or that I would get stuck if I manged to squeeze myself in. As we went around the fair I had managed to avoid them for a good amount of time then it was time. Nothing was going to stop him going on so I handed over the money and waited.

As we stood waiting to go on I was sure I could hear people pointing and laughing at me such are my insecurities about myself even though they weren’t. So it was time, as Michael ran to the car with the Welsh flag on it I took a deep breath and went to get in. In my mind I could only picture myself getting stuck and the fire brigade having to come and cut me out. As I stepped in and went to sit down something happened… yes there was plenty of room. I realised that I wasn’t going to get stuck. There was lots of room, my boy had lots of room to. I started laughing to myself and then as my son looked at me a big grin came across my face- “I told you that you’d fit dad” he piped up. And you know what I had a great time. I even managed to have a sneaky selfie. I didn’t want our time to finish.

So as I write this I want to encourage you, when you feel down because you have put on or you’ve not landed the promotion or work or your dream house has been sold and not to you… to stop for a minute and think. Think of the things you do have, think of the things that have made you smile. Life is too short to dwell on a little bump on the road.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

dodgem

Fatboygettingslim

Jonathan

#keepbelieving

#neverlosehope

#hopebubbles

2 thoughts on “Fun or fear at the fair?!!”

  1. What a great post, thank you, I have gained 3lbs after a trip away, and am now struggling to get back in my stride again, I sat here yesterday and ate crap! Well not today! I shall think of all the good and positive things I have done, and I shall rejoice as all the crisps got eaten yesterday!
    I’m sure that 2lbs will come off very quickly…xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

