Motivation

Motivation
So today I posted that I had been for a run this morning and a couple of people commented that they wished they had my motivation. This got me thinking about what motivates me. As I blogged about a couple of blogs ago (Why am I doing this) I have found the past few months difficult from both a personal view point and a weight loss perspective.
So as I thought about why do I get up at about 5am each morning to get ready to go for a run, what keeps me going when it’s minus 1 and when its chucking it down and no matter which direction you run there seems to be what feels like a gale force wind. Here is a brief list of what motivates me. Some you may be able to identify with. The process of thinking about them and writing them down as helped remind me of how far I come. This can be applied to anything we are doing not just with exercise.
1. Me- I want to be me and to be me I need to be in better shape both physically and mentally and the journey I am on helps that.
2. My wife and son- as I have written before I want to see my son grow up and do fun father and son things like play football, go for family bike rides
3. Exploring new places- I try and vary my route so as to explore but also by entering races I go to new places and explore.
4. The best is yet to come.
5. Life is short. If we look at the news we see death on a daily basis, we see sections of society be marginalised for being different for being disabled or being poor I whole variety of reasons and the truth is we just don’t know what the future holds so grab the opportunities that present themselves.
6. Life is too short to keep having a pity party and say I can’t do this I can’t do that.
These are just a few of the things that motivate me. Why don’t you make a list of things that motivate you this could even be things you would like to do. I will leave you with a favourite bible verse of mine which sums up what helps to keep me motivated.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18The Message (MSG)
16-18 So we’re not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace. These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us. There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.
Fatboygettingslim
#hopebubbles
#keepbelieving

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

